Streaming Guide October 13 – October 19

Rebecca Cactus

This is my desktop background, I love it.

via DeciderTV

Hey, remember when I posted this GIF yesterday? It was so my erstwhile editor Steve Molk could save it, because Slack won’t let you save GIFs. That’s what I learned late last night while I was watching the Dynasty premiere. Netflix did a number on me when they didn’t give me any warning that the latest seasons of Jane the Virgin and Crazy Ex-Girlfriend were dropping, so I had to highlight them retroactively. Last week was a little busy, so I couldn’t do both which meant I got really into my Crazy Ex-Girlfriend synopsis.

So, other things in streaming: I’m still not sure how I feel about The Babysitter, which I watched on Tuesday night. If you want to talk about it, please leave a comment or contact me on Twitter. At the start of the film I began counting how many songs had been used – there were 5 in the first 15 minutes – but when it gets to the point, it’s pretty fun. I know that last song choice as they cut to credits is supposed to be funny but it still rubbed me the wrong way. I liked that last line though! Oh well.

I haven’t watched The Meyerowitz Stories yet, but I’m looking forward to it. I have seen the season two premiere of Good Behavior, and I was drawn in immediately, despite not having seen the second half of the first season. I think Michelle Dockery’s performance is fantastic, but when I read the description, I was hoping it would be a little more like Leverage. Plus Ann Dowd and Laura Bell Bundy are guest starring! Okay, Ann Dowd was in the first season, but I’m definitely more interested in the show now than I was during the first season.

I think I’m going to start writing Riverdale recaps, but starting next week. I might put in a few bullet points tomorrow if I have time/remember. There’s a direction I think it’s going to take based on plot points I’m not allowed to reveal from my screener emails, so I’m looking forward to seeing if I’m right (I haven’t watched ahead yet – I’ll probably stick to one episode per week because I like talking about it with my friends).

Leave a Reply

