Television Review: Orange Is the New Black, Season 5

OITNB_509_Unit_01076_R.jpg

This is from Episode 9, the best episode of the season.

via REVIEW: Orange Is The New Black – Season 5 | @NetflixANZ @Foxtel #OITNB — DeciderTV

A year ago I wrote my first ever pre-air review for DeciderTV. It was the fourth season of OITNB, and I saw the first two episodes. This year, I was lucky enough to get screeners for the entire season, and this is what came of it. It took longer than I expected – how do you distil 13 hours of television into a few hundred words without spoiling anything? – but I’m proud of how it turned out. I really loved episode 9, which was a standout after some Netflix drag. I just read Alan Sepinwall’s review, which was a bit more critical than my own, even though I agree with most of his points. There was a bit of Netflix drag, especially in the middle, but episodes 9-13 were so good (9 is the best, and will probably be the subject of a spoiler review) that I was able to forgive the lag. Also if my writing is ever as half as good as Alan’s, I will be very happy.

Leave a Reply

