Orange Is the New Black, Season 4 Episodes 1 and 2 [SPOILERS]

I wrote a pre-air review for the fourth season of Orange Is the New Black earlier this week. Yes it’s as good as the first three seasons, and if that’s what you’re after, go here. This is a post filled with some of my favourite moments from the first 2 episodes, as well as some criticisms. All spoilers are below the break, and I’m going to find a good picture so that you can stop reading if you want to be spoiled.

OITNB_4060818_00119_R (1)

Orange Is The New Black S4. Image courtesy of Netflix.

For those of you who are worried, I have not yet seen this moment in the show, but it’s in the trailer. It’s a natural progression of what we do see in the first two episodes as Piper is desperate to consolidate her power, and Ruiz becomes a leader within the Latina clan. So, here are some things I loved from the first two episodes:

  • Chang: “See you later, thug life”
  • This is also a good time to note that Chang has the most reasonable reaction to the mass exodus at Litchfield. While everyone’s swimming in the lake, she’s going to have a long shower in one of the good showers. It’s about priorities.
  • My biggest nitpick: hedging shears aren’t really good for anything other than hedging. They’re not particularly sharp, and if you want to prune something you’re better off using secateurs or loppers. I used hedging shears once. I got bitten by a bullant when I was trimming the azaleas. I woke up the next morning to see that it had turned purple. All of this is to say that I don’t think hedging shears would be very good for chopping up a corpse.
  • I used part of Red’s speech to Piper about how to seem powerful in my pre-air review, but it’s a standout scene. Kate Mulgrew and Taylor Schilling are fantastic, and the show will definitely be different when Piper leaves Litchfield (which I’m guessing will either be this season or next season). And then it’s all undercut by Norma winning at cards.
  • I loved the Ruiz flashbacks. It’s great insight as to how the Latina community is not just a homogenous entity, and as there are more of them at Litchfield, there are fractures between groups. It’s also a story of a woman who embraced her heritage after rejecting it in the flashbacks, and it’s well structured.
Leave a Reply

