ABC’s Wednesday Nights are off to a great start for 2016

The tennis is over, and it’s the first week of Australia’s 2016 ratings period. I have at least four reviews that are in draft stage, so this is going to be a short one. Ever since Spicks and Specks (my favourite non-scripted Australian show) first graced our screens in 2005, ABC Wednesday nights have been appointment viewing at my house. Even during the non-ratings period there’s good programming with Would I Lie to You?, Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries and The Musketeers on in the summer. Now that it’s ratings season, ABC Wednesdays are a highlight.

At 8pm there’s Julia Zemiro’s Home Delivery. This isn’t something I watch on a regular basis, but Julia’s trip to Queensland with Kerry O’Brien was the best episode I’ve seen of this show to date. They visited Kerry’s home and his school, where they talked about his childhood and his relationship with Catholicism. Kerry’s family was strongly Catholic; he went to a Christian Brothers’ school, and his brother left home to be a Brother when he was fourteen. I’m not going to tell you any more than that, you should just go and watch it on iView.

At 8:30 is The Weekly with Charlie Pickering. This show is a lot tighter than it was in its first season, and has figured out the best way to use Kitty and Tom. Unfortunately there was no Hard Chat last night, but we did get an extension of his talk with Karl Stefanovic from The Yearly, as well as this:

the weekly

Kitty tried to find out what the deal with vaping is, but it turns out that no one knows, but as long as there are these zingers in True Detective, does it really matter?

Finally at 9pm there’s Black Comedy, which is one of Australia’s best sketch shows about race (the other is Legally Brown on SBS). This is one of my favourite sketches from the first season, which is now available for streaming on Stan.

What’s more, all three shows rated in the Top 20 Free to Air programmes last night.

You can catch up with all of these shows on iView. I’m not going to write about them on a weekly basis, but most likely when I see something I really like.

Note: I haven’t included The Last Leg Down Under for a few reasons. It’s not an ABC production which is a bit of a quibble, but I also haven’t seen it yet because I went to bed early last night. I might write something about it a bit later.

Leave a Reply

