2015: My year in film, Part 2

Earlier this week I started to give out some fake awards to films I saw this year, and the list got so long that I decided to split it into two posts. I started to remember all the films I saw this year, so here are the rest of my fake awards, which I’m writing up as I watch a Person of Interest marathon on FX Australia. It’s ridiculously hot outside, and I’m looking after some dogs this New Year’s Eve, which is a pretty great gig.

Best non-2015 film I saw in 2015: Casablanca

Now there’s a worthy Best Picture winner. I’m really grateful to the Rivoli for putting classic films on Sunday afternoons in October. People who bought tickets went into a draw to see a special screening of Carol. I bought tickets to both Casablanca and Vertigo, but I didn’t win a pass. The friend I saw Casablanca with did. This film is great, and I recently saw it again on television, and it was just as good.

Worst non-2015 film I saw in 2015: The Graduate

I don’t like this film. I liked it a little more as a parallel to Mad Men, but that’s it. The vast majority of coming of age films are about young men, and The Graduate is basically just this, and nothing more. Paper Towns and Me and Earl at least have a female character trope, The Graduate just has people that the male protagonist sleeps with. There’s also stalking, which people question on Love Actually, but somehow this one’s a classic.

Most disturbing film I saw in 2015: Vertigo

I probably wouldn’t have seen this film if the characters in iZombie hadn’t been obsessed with it. Then as with Casablanca, I had a chance to see it on the big screen. It was my first Hitchcock, and I was thinking about it for the rest of the day.

Best coming of age film in 2015: Mistress America

I didn’t see Noah Baumbach’s other 2015 film, While We’re Young, but Mistress America is a coming of age film about a young woman that was much better than the others I saw this year. Baumbach and Greta Gerwig did a fantastic job with the story, and Lola Kirke showed just as much charm as she did in Mozart in the Jungle (I’m slowly making my way through the second season, and I love it).

Best romantic comedy of 2015: Sleeping With Other People

I don’t really like When Harry Met Sally. The trick to enjoying that film is to walk away as soon as they start playing pictionary, because once they sleep together it’s ruined. I was tweeting about this last week because my parents were watching it, and I realised that Sleeping With Other People isn’t really that different. Why do I love one and strongly dislike the other? I have no idea, but I’m thinking about looking into it next year, which means of course I’d have to watch both films again. It could just be a generational thing, I don’t know. But Harry and Sally’s friendship in the first half of the film isn’t that different to Jake and Lainey’s, so it’s an interesting thing for me to think about.

Best live performance film of 2015: The Primary Instinct

I didn’t want to leave this one out, and it’s the only digital film I purchased this year. I like to support the work of people whose podcasts I listen to, and The Primary Instinct was profoundly moving. It’s storytelling at its simplest, and it works beautifully. Buy this film.

Favourite film of 2015: Inside Out

A lot of the films that people are talking about as the best of the year won’t be released in Australia for at least another week. However Inside Out was the best film I saw this year, and marked a return to form for Pixar. I liked Brave more than most people did, but Inside Out was Up levels of brilliant, and explored emotions in a way that only Pixar can do.

One thought on “2015: My year in film, Part 2

Leave a Reply

