It’s been a long week…

… so here’s a link to the streaming releases for December, which I was going to write up the other day! There will be a review of Please Like Me coming, I just know that I won’t be able to write a decent review in my current state of fatigue. I briefly considered renting Mad Max: Fury Road tonight, but I might wait until tomorrow. I’m house sitting at the moment, which combined with the fact that it’s December, has been quite tiring. Yesterday I had work until 4:30, walked the dog when I got home at 5, fed the animals after the walk, made dinner, ate dinner, made lunch for today, had a shower, and then I had to leave for choir again at 7:45. I went to the supermarket at 9:45 to buy fresh vegetables for the rabbit. So anyway, streaming options. As always, the full list is available at CNet Australia.

Netflix: Netflix had a great November, and their big drawcard for December is Bill Murray’s A Very Murray Christmas, which became available today. If I’m lucky I’ll be able to watch it by Monday. The fourth season of Homeland is also now available on Netflix, which I might check out if I ever have the urge. I loved the first season and a half of Homeland, and I didn’t see the season three finale because I was flying over the Pacific Ocean around the time it aired. Another show I watched a lot of but not the finale is the first season of Zoo, which was entertainingly terrible for a long time, but then I got bored. Caroline Framke’s piece over at Vox is the best thing to have come out of the show, even though I’m glad Bob Benson is employed. Given that some of the films that were nominated for the Independent Spirit Awards are available on Netflix (I know It Follows is on there, I’m not sure about Tangerine), I’ll most likely be catching up on those while I can.

Stan: Stan’s greatest acquisition to date in terms of prestige is Transparent. It’s a show I have yet to catch up on (I really liked the episodes I did watch, it just wasn’t high on my list of priorities last year, or even this year). Stan also has the streaming rights to Mozart in the Jungle which did for classical music what I wanted Flesh and Bone to do for ballet. The second season will arrive at the end of the month. Stan has just added a bunch of foreign films (although it’s been there for a while, I highly recommend Goodbye Lenin), and the first season of The Flash dropped yesterday. There are some films I really want to see, like Inside Llewyn Davis and Nebraska dropping at the end of the month, too.

Presto: Presto is the streaming service I don’t have a subscription to because I have access to Foxtel, but I can understand why it would be appealing with the entire HBO collection. Presto has the streaming rights to NBC Universal shows, including 30 Rock and Parks and Recreation (but not the final season). In terms of movies however, it’s not as strong as either Stan or Netflix, so I don’t know. It’s good to know what your options are.

Leave a Reply

