What I’ve been reading and watching, and a farewell to Firewall and Iceberg

I went to Ballarat today and I’m quite tired, so this particular blog post is going to be a jumble of thoughts on a bunch of different things because the thought of writing 500 words on even one thing seems inconceivable to me right now. Maybe I can write 100 words on five different things, but also probably not. I’m going to write a little about what I’ve been reading and watching, and then farewell the Firewall and Iceberg podcast, one of my favourite general television podcasts, which just had its series finale. Spoilers, I guess.

What I’ve been reading/watching:

Hart of Dixie: This is just a sweet show and I absolutely love it. Aside from Zoe and Wade, my shipping for George, Lemon, Lavon and Annabeth changes based on whoever is together at the time, and I tend to cry with every breakup. I was a Lavon/Lemon shipper in the first season (I was not Zoe/George though, it was always Wade for me), but when Lavon and Annabeth got together, that was my favourite couple. They were great! I cried a lot when Annabeth and Lavon broke up, just as I did with Zoe and Joel. And Joel was kind of a nothing character who didn’t have much of a purpose, but his departure from the show was heartbreaking. I guess the show that Hart of Dixie resembles most is Gilmore Girls, and I am perfectly okay with that. It’s about people in a small town. I also love that season three has introduced musical numbers into the mix, with Shelby’s Cabaret, and the mash-up war between the Belles and the Owls after Lavon broke Annabeth’s heart and then told her she wasn’t allowed to date a Gainey (town rivalry is fierce). I still have a few episodes left of season three, and the fourth season isn’t up on Stan yet, so I don’t know what I’ll be watching next.

We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler: My sister and my mum (not to mention Annabel Crabb and Leigh Sales) loved this book, so I’ve started reading it, and my aim is to finish it by Monday. I have a lot off issues with the theme being outright mentioned by the narrator on more than one occasion, but I’m sticking with it because I trust the opinions of people who liked it. Also my mum warned me that it takes a little bit to get into.

I also just bought Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan and Deborah Biancotti, which I’m looking forward to starting. I have a pile of half-read books on my bedside table, so it’s my aim to finish one before i start another.

Goodbye Firewall and Iceberg:

A couple of months ago I said goodbye to TV on the Internet, and now that Dan Fienberg is working at The Hollywood Reporter, another of my favourite general television podcasts is ending. There were a good 301/302 episodes (Dan wasn’t there for episode 34, so Alan invited Mo Ryan onto the podcast so there’s debate to whether or not it’s a ‘real’ episode), so it’s not like this podcast hasn’t had a good life. The mark of a good television podcast is one that opens me up to new shows and makes me think more critically about the ones I’m watching, and I’ve definitely learned a lot listening to Firewall and Iceberg. I’ve listened to a handful of early ones, but I largely avoided downloading the ones that discussed the final season of Lost, because I didn’t want to get spoiled (I have still not finished watching Lost, by the way, I have a season and two episodes to go). I’m going to check out the show’s page on the iTunes store to see if I can still get them. The last episode had some reviews and then some lovely reminiscing about how they met in college and wound up working together at HitFix, and then also some discussion of in-jokes (serial killer Landry, Stat Phoebe Tonkin, Accent Cops, etc). Thanks Dan and Alan, we’ll always have HIEROGLYPH!

Leave a Reply

