Emmy Predictions 2015: Limited Series and Movie

It turns out that September is the point at which I become a terrible blogger, and as I said, Wednesday to Friday is super busy, even though that only started this week. I also finally bought Ocarina of Time for my 3DS, which is great because I get stuck and have problems! This is what happens when all I play is Pokemon. Anyway, because I’ve had such a busy day, it’s time for Emmy Predictions: Limited Series and Television Movie Edition, which will once again be chosen using the randomiser because I don’t think I’ve even seen one of these, but I need to go and read the categories to be sure.

LEAD ACTOR, LIMITED SERIES OR MOVIE

Timothy Hutton, American Crime
Ricky Gervais, Derek Special
Adrien Brody, Houdini
David Oyelowo, Nightingale
Richard Jenkins, Olive Kitteridge
Mark Rylance, Wolf Hall

Should win: wow, okay there are some good performances there. As much as Oyelowo was SNUBBED! Snubbed, I tell you! for the Oscars, I haven’t seen Nightingale, so I can’t comment. I have however seen Olive Kitteridge and three-quarters of Wolf Hall. What’s great about both Jenkins and Rylance’s performances is that they’re subtle. Normally the Emmy goes to a performance that is more outwardly showy, so I’m happy that these actors have been nominated. I’m going to go for Mark Rylance, mainly as a wish.

Will win: Mark Rylance! Hooray!

LEAD ACTRESS, LIMITED SERIES OR MOVIE

Felicity Huffman, American Crime
Jessica Lange, American Horror Story
Queen Latifah, Bessie
Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Honourable Woman
Frances McDormand, Olive Kitteridge
Emma Thompson, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber Of Fleet Street

Should win: okay, I’ve also seen the first half of The Honourable Woman, but this should go to Frances McDormand.

Will win: Maggie Gyllenhaal. Okay, I wasn’t expecting that, but she is a movie star so it’s entirely possible. Although let’s not forget Julia Roberts’ face when she lost last year.

LIMITED SERIES

American Crime
American Horror Story: Freak Show
The Honorable Woman
Olive Kitteridge
Wolf Hall

Should win: Okay, I’ve varying degrees of three of these, which is the best I’ve had so far. Wolf Hall. As my friend Frank said about the book, “they should call it Good Hall, because it’s really good”.

Will win: I think this is going to Olive Kitteridge, I’m not even using the randomiser for this one. Just a hunch.

OUTSTANDING TELEVISION MOVIE

Agatha Christie’s Poirot: Curtain, Poirot’s Last Case
Bessie
Grace of Monaco
Hello Ladies: The Movie
Killing Jesus
Nightingale

Should win: Of these I’ve seen Curtain, during which I talked with my family. I’ve read the book though, and it’s very good, so that.

Will win: Nightingale. A (sort of) win for David Oyelowo!

SUPPORTING ACTOR, LIMITED SERIES OR MOVIE

Richard Cabral, American Crime
Denis O’Hare, American Horror Story: Freak Show
Finn Wittrock, American Horror Story: Freak Show
Michael Kenneth Williams, Bessie
Bill Murray, Olive Kitteridge
Damian Lewis, Wolf Hall

Should win: Damian Lewis performance in Wolf Hall was much more interesting than Murray’s in Olive Kitteridge, so I’ll go for that. Brody may have died on Homeland, but Lewis’ Emmy prospects didn’t.

Will win: Finn Wittrock, apparently. I’ve never heard of this guy, so sure!

SUPPORTING ACTRESS, LIMITED SERIES OR MOVIE

Regina King, American Crime
Sarah Paulson, American Horror Story: Freak Show
Angela Bassett, American Horror Story: Freak Show
Kathy Bates, American Horror Story: Freak Show
Mo’Nique, Bessie
Zoe Kazan, Olive Kitteridge

Should win: this category has three of Ryan Murphy’s muses, two other performances I haven’t seen and Zoe Kazan, which I can’t remember. I’ll go with Mo’Nique.

Will win: Zoe Kazan it is.

WRITING FOR A LIMITED SERIES, MOVIE OR DRAMATIC SPECIAL

  • John Ridley for American Crime, “Episode One”
  • Dee Rees, Christopher Cleveland, Bettina Gilois and Horton Foote for Bessie
  • Stephen Merchant, Gene Stupnitsky and Lee Eisenberg for Hello Ladies: The Movie 
  • Hugo Blick for The Honorable Woman
  • Jane Anderson or Olive Kitteridge
  • Peter Straughan for Wolf Hall

Should win: I have no idea. I’ll go for Good Hall.

Will win: Ridley for American Crime. I don’t think that’s likely, but I put my faith in you, randomiser.

DIRECTING FOR A LIMITED SERIES, MOVIE OR DRAMATIC SPECIAL

  • Ryan Murphy for American Horror Story: Freak Show
  • Dee Rees for Bessie
  • Hugo Blick for The Honorable Woman
  • Uli Edel for Houdini
  • Tom Shankland for The Missing
  • Lisa Cholodenko for Olive Kitteridge
  • Peter Kosminsky for Wolf Hall

Should win: Tom Shankland. I don’t know, I haven’t even seen The Missing. We have reached the point where I can no longer make a half-hearted case for anything.

Will win: Uli Edel for Houdini. Now I’m going to go to sleep.

One thought on “Emmy Predictions 2015: Limited Series and Movie

Leave a Reply

