Emmy Predictions 2015: Comedy

In a strange twist of fate, Wednesday to Friday has become the most hectic period of myweek, and between going to the state Wakakirri finals last night and choir practice tonight, I won’t have time to watch Utopia, because I’m fairly sure I’ll fall asleep as soon as I get home from choir. So that means it will be another day of Emmy predictions, this time in the Comedy categories. I’ve seen at least one episode of most of the dramas that have been nominated this year, not so much the comedy side of things. Four years ago I think I watched one drama in a sea of comedies, now it’s the opposite. Half the problem is that the licensing deals for comedies in Australia aren’t as good as those for dramas, so unless it’s on Comedy Central, HBO or by Louis C.K., there’s almost no way to watch them legally. Let’s see how this goes.

OUTSTANDING COMEDY SERIES
Louie
Modern Family
Parks and Recreation
Silicon Valley
Transparent
Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt
Veep

Should win: Modern Family is the perennial winner in this particular category, but I have a feeling that this will be the year its reign ends. I want Parks to win for its final season.

Will win: Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt has so many nominations, but this will be a contest between Transparent and VeepTransparent has already won an award in the Guest Actor category, but Veep has Julia Louis-Dreyfus. I’m going to say Veep, but that’s only because I don’t feel like flipping a coin on this one.

LEAD ACTOR, COMEDY

Anthony Anderson, Black-ish
Matt LeBlanc, Episodes
Don Cheadle, House of Lies
Will Forte, The Last Man On Earth
Louis C.K., Louie
William H. Macy, Shameless
Jeffrey Tambor, Transparent

Should win: This is a tough one for me, because I have not seen Black-ish, Episodes, House of Lies or The Last Man On Earth. I’ve seen most of the first season of Shameless, and a few episodes of the most recent seasons of Louie and Transparent. There’s no one I’m particularly invested in here, so I’ll say Anderson as a dark horse.

Will win: I think Jeffrey Tambor is fantastic in Transparent, and his win will be completely deserved. I like to put in a dark horse pick wherever I can.

LEAD ACTRESS, COMEDY

Lisa Kudrow, The Comeback
Lily Tomlin, Grace And Frankie
Amy Schumer, Inside Amy Schumer
Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie
Amy Poehler, Parks And Recreation
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Veep

Should win: Amy Poehler, because at least in the first three seasons of Parks and Recreation, I wanted to be Leslie Knope when I grew up. (The fat-shaming on Parks and Rec is absolutely when it lost me)

Will win: Perennial Emmy winner JLD for Veep. Although I’m picking Schumer as a dark horse winner because Trainwreck was great. I really want it to be Poehler though.

SUPPORTING ACTOR, COMEDY

Andre Braugher, Brooklyn Nine-Nine
Adam Driver, Girls
Keegan-Michael Key, Key & Peele
Ty Burrell, Modern Family
Tituss Burgess, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt
Tony Hale, Veep

Should win: I want Braugher to win this, the monologue in the bar he gave in that episode of Brooklyn Nine-Nine was perfection.

Will win: Tony Hale, I think this is the year that Veep will sweep the comedy awards.

SUPPORTING ACTRESS, COMEDY

Mayim Bialik, The Big Bang Theory
Niecy Nash, Getting On
Julie Bowen, Modern Family
Allison Janney, Mom
Kate McKinnon, Saturday Night Live
Gaby Hoffmann, Transparent
Jane Krakowski, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt
Anna Chlumsky, Veep

Should win: I have nothing invested in this particular category other than ‘Not Gaby Hoffmann’, who was fine in Transparent, but I couldn’t stand her character. I’m going to go McKinnon, because why not?

Will win: I did say that thing about Veep sweeping the categories this year, but that’s not entirely true. Allison Janney didn’t win for Masters of Sex this year, but the Emmys still love both her and Julie Bowen (who was fantastic on Lost by the way). I’m going to go with Janney.

WRITING FOR A COMEDY SERIES

  • David Crane and Jeffrey Klarik for Episodes, “Episode 409”
  • Will Forte for The Last Man On Earth, “Alive In Tucson” (Pilot)
  • Louis C.K. for Louie, “Bobby’s House”
  • Alec Berg for Silicon Valley, “Two Days Of The Condor”
  • Jill Soloway for Transparent, “Pilot”
  • Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci and Tony Roche for Veep, “Election Night”

Should win: Louis C.K. won this last year for “So Did the Fat Lady”, one of my favourite episodes of television ever. “Bobby’s House” is a completely different tone. It’s still good, but I really like the Transparent pilot, even if it’s more dramatic than comedic (this is a problem with the new Emmy rules).

Will win: “Election Night”, because I like to make my choices different, and from what I’ve heard it’s probably the best ever episode of Veep. Also, I’m really disappointed that Tony Roche who writes for Veep isn’t the same Tony Roche as the Australian tennis champion.

DIRECTING FOR A COMEDY SERIES

  • Phil Lord and Christopher Miller for The Last Man On Earth, “Alive In Tucson” (Pilot)
  • Louis C.K. for Louie, “Sleepover”
  • Mike Judge for Silicon Valley, “Sand Hill Shuffle”
  • Jill Soloway for Transparent, “Best New Girl”
  • Armando Iannucci for Veep, “Testimony”

Should win: “Sleepover”, because it’s the only one I’ve seen.

Will win: “Best New Girl”. I really think the comedy categories are going to be dominated by Transparent and Veep this year, although hopefully they save a statue for Amy Poehler. She and Jon Hamm have to both win or both lose (so they can still host their Emmys Losers Party).

One thought on “Emmy Predictions 2015: Comedy

Leave a Reply

