Emmy Predictions 2015: Drama

In a stroke of luck, I have found myself incredibly busy this week, and thankfully the Emmys are here for me in my time of need. I don’t have time to review anything today, so I’m going to do predictions for Drama Series today, and then the Comedy and Miniseries/Movie categories will have to wait until the weekend. You can find a full list of nominees over on Variety. I’m not 100% up to date on all of these shows: I’ve stopped watching Downton, House of Cards and Homeland, I didn’t finish the first season of HTGAWM, and I’m in the process of watching the first season of Empire. Australian broadcast dates are difficult. Onto the predictions!

OUTSTANDING DRAMA SERIES
Better Call Saul
Downton Abbey
Game of Thrones
Homeland
House of Cards
Mad Men
Orange is the New Black

Should win: OITNB, which is nominated for its second season, aka my favourite season so far. I would say Mad Men, but what I really want for that show is some acting wins, it has enough series wins already. The only other show that could possibly be deserving is Better Call Saul, but my heart is in Orange.

Will win: No idea. The pessimist in me says House of Cards, but since the reverse chronological winners are Breaking Bad, Breaking Bad, Homeland and Mad Men x4, I have no idea where the momentum is. Based on the Guest Actor/Actress wins last weekend, I’m going to stick with House of Cards, since The Americans wasn’t nominated.

LEAD ACTOR, DRAMA

Bob Odenkirk, Better Call Saul
Kyle Chandler, Bloodline
Kevin Spacey, House of Cards
Jon Hamm, Mad Men
Jeff Daniels, The Newsroom
Liev Schreiber, Ray Donovan

Should win: Full disclosure, I haven’t watched Bloodline yet, and I don’t watch Ray Donovan. As much as I came around to loving Better Call Saul by the end of its first season, it’s ridiculous that Jon Hamm doesn’t have an Emmy yet.

Will win: Ever since Jeff Daniels won two years ago, it has become apparent that we truly have no idea how Emmy voters think. I have no idea so I’ll go with Spacey.

LEAD ACTRESS, DRAMA

Taraji P. Henson, Empire
Claire Danes, Homeland
Viola Davis, How to Get Away with Murder
Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black
Elisabeth Moss, Mad Men
Robin Wright, House of Cards

Should win: I have seen at least one episode of each of these shows! I’m torn between Taraji P. Henson and Tatiana Maslany. Even though Orphan Black was at its best in its first season, Maslany’s performance has remained fantastic, regardless of the writing/structural issues with the show. I’ve only seen one episode of Empire, and I liked it, and I love Henson in Person of Interest, but I’m going with Maslany, because genre shows get very few acting wins.

Will win: Oscar nominee Viola Davis. This is the strongest category I’ve seen so far.

SUPPORTING ACTOR, DRAMA

Jonathan Banks, Better Call Saul
Ben Mendelsohn, Bloodline
Jim Carter, Downton Abbey
Peter Dinklage, Game Of Thrones
Alan Cumming, The Good Wife
Michael Kelly, House Of Cards

Should win: Of the performances I’ve seen, Banks is clearly the best. However Mendelsohn is supposed to be the best thing about Bloodline, and he’s an Aussie, so I can’t vote any other way.

Will win: This is not really a great category, so I’m going to guess Banks – except it’ll probably go to Jim Carter because the Emmys love period shows and British accents.

SUPPORTING ACTRESS, DRAMA

Joanne Froggatt, Downton Abbey
Lena Headey, Game Of Thrones
Emilia Clarke, Game Of Thrones
Christine Baranski, The Good Wife
Christina Hendricks, Mad Men
Uzo Aduba, Orange Is The New Black

Should win: Uzo Aduba, with Lena Heady as the closest of seconds.

Will win: Joanne Froggatt won the Golden Globe this year, but Aduba won for this role in the Guest Actress (in a Comedy) category last year, so I’m sticking with Aduba.

WRITING FOR A DRAMA SERIES

  • Joshua Brand for The Americans, “Do Mail Robots Dream Of Electric Sheep?”
  • Gordon Smith for Better Call Saul, “Five-O”
  • David Benioff and D.B. Weiss for Game Of Thrones, “Mother’s Mercy”
  • Semi Chellas and Matthew Weiner for Mad Men, “Lost Horizon”
  • Matthew Weiner for Mad Men, “Person To Person”

Should win: Joshua Brand for The Americans, since this is pretty much its only nomination outside of perennial Emmy winner Margo Martindale. Also the title of the episode is “Do Mail Robots Dream Of Electric Sheep?”

Will win: Gordon Smith for Better Call Saul. “Five-O” was a great episode of television, and of all the episodes in the series so far, it felt the most reminiscent of Breaking Bad, which is why I think it will win.

DIRECTING FOR A DRAMA SERIES

  • Tim Van Patten for Boardwalk Empire, “Eldorado”
  • David Nutter for Game Of Thrones, “Mother’s Mercy”
  • Jeremy Podeswa for Game Of Thrones, “Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken”
  • Lesli Linka Glatter for Homeland, “From A To B And Back Again”
  • Steven Soderbergh for The Knick, “Method And Madness”

Should win: This is a complete toss up for me, although I’d be happy if the winner was just “Not Jeremy Podeswa”, the same way my mum wrote “Not [candidate’s first name]” on an election ballot in 1998 or 99. The Knick looks fantastic, so I’ll go Soderbergh, although full credit to David Nutter for “Mother’s Mercy”, particularly the walk of shame.

Will win: The two Game of Thrones episodes will cancel each other out, so the other three each have a pretty good chance. I’m going to go Soderbergh, because the Emmys love people who make movies.

One thought on “Emmy Predictions 2015: Drama

Leave a Reply

