Orphan Black, Season 3 Episode 2: “Transitory Sacrifices of Crisis”

Immediately after I watched this week’s episode of Orphan Black, I slept for two and a half hours. I only woke up about 20 minutes ago, so this could be an interesting review. After some nice interaction between the sestras in the season premiere, today our favourite clones were scattered to the winds. It’s as if Manson and Fawcett decided to give the fans some of what they wanted last week and had to get on with the job this week. And instead of scenes with more than one Maslany, we got scenes with more than one Millen. I understand the importance of plot, but who are these guys? What is their mission? Why are they ‘glitching’? Is it like when the Leda clones get cancer? I have these questions, but I’m not particularly invested in the answers because I’m not invested in the characters the way I am our female clones. And if they don’t fix that soon, it’s going to get frustrating.

It seems that Delphine and Marion Bowles now have the Dyad Institute under their control, and Dr Leekie’s replacement is actually giving Cosima and Scott some answers. These answers are that they have no idea where Professor Duncan kept the original genome sequences of both clones, which are in the copy of The Island of Doctor Moreau that is hidden in Felix’s loft. The Castor clones are also looking for the book, so they’re probably hoping that it provides answers to why they’re ‘glitching’. I don’t know how much time Cosima and Scott have to figure all of this out before the Castor clones find what they’re looking for, but they got quite close to the truth tonight.

Over in the wider Vancouver area (I assume this show has committed to being Canadian now that Kira, Sarah and Cal were playing hockey together), Sarah is looking for Helena, and Alison is considering taking over her dealer’s business now that he’s going to college. That way she can fund her campaign and get some votes at the same time. Alison’s great, and Donny’s great, but I don’t know if they can handle this, as much as I’m on Team Hendrix. Sarah doesn’t get very far in getting to Helena, but the visit from Rudy and Seth (RIP mustache clone) combined with Paul’s visit to Cal is enough to convince her that Cal needs to take Kira away to be safe. Michael Huisman and Skyler Wexler had some great scenes together last season, but I don’t want Kira being sent away to be with her father to be something the show relies on, like Helena being kidnapped.

Over at the super secret military base, some sort of Black Ops team is performing tests on Helena, including a “stress test” that may or may not be the same thing as waterboarding, and a logic test that we saw Paul perform on Rudy and Seth. I liked the return of Helena’s scorpion friend here. Helena is a resilient woman who has been through a lot, but I don’t know what they’re looking for from these tests. The Castor clones have all been raised together by the military and have probably been doing these tests for a number of years; Helena was brought up by a fanatical religious group – all the Project Leda clones were raised separately from each other and only became self-aware recently. Thank goodness her pregnancy exempted her from being waterboarded. This clearly isn’t an above board section of the military.

Other thoughts:

  • Alison: I could beat her, Donny, I could beat her like a French meringue.
  • Felix: Dear God, you must be Scott.
  • Paul continues to be an empty vessel. At least he’s a minor character (I have no idea how important his position in the army is), unlike Jack on Lost (I can always find a way to mention my dislike of Jack)
  • Mark Rollins has burned off his Castor tattoo. Was his mission to infiltrate the Proletheans or is he actually in love with Gracie? It could be both, and getting Gracie on his side was a good way to eliminate the Proletheans. The one thing I’m going to say is that what works about this show are the characters and not the shadowy organisations, so I hope the show improves on that this season.
  • I’m now off to read Caroline Framke’s review over at The A.V. Club, because her insight into the show is greater than mine (they’re some of my favourite reviews on the site), and I wish to learn from her.
Leave a Reply

