General update (and my computer is connected to the internet again!)

I’ve been quite busy this week – choir has started back, which takes up my Thursday nights and some Sunday mornings, and because of my battle with the wifi, I haven’t had much time to watch anything outside Better Call Saul, Jane the Virgin, Justified and the Oscars. So today, because I’m making myself write every day, I’m just going to give a list of things I’m about to start watching or have recently begun watching again. I like being busy (it’s so much better than being unemployed, and I love choir), but sometimes it’s hard to find time for myself.

Television:

Alias: Last Saturday I spent most of the morning driving, so when I was home alone, I decided to get back on the Alias train. (Spoiler alert for episodes that aired 12 years ago). When it turned out that Sloane and Sark provided Sydney and the CIA with the information they needed to bring down SD6, I had a suspicion that Sloane had either been working with Irina, especially when it turned out that he hadn’t killed Emily. I don’t know if it was when he learned he had to kill his own wife, but he lost faith in SD6, and his obsession with Rambaldi mirrored Irina’s; since Sark blackmailed Sydney into helping him murder Sloane (why are they all S names?), it seemed to make sense as part of a master plan. But I haven’t gotten past Irina’s escape from the CIA yet, so I don’t know.

The 100: Mo Ryan and Ryan McGee have been talking about how much they love this show, so when I saw that JB Hi-Fi had a ‘buy a first season, get another first season free’ (which turned out to not be my favourite sale they’ve ever had, because I have most of the first seasons that I want), it seemed like the logical choice to get this. The DVD only arrived today, so I have yet to watch it, but I’m looking forward to it.

Spartacus: This was the other show I got as part of the JB Hi-Fi sale, and the day after I bought it, Stan sent me an email telling me that it was going to be part of their library beginning this week. I was slightly annoyed, but I did get the DVD for free, and I just did a search on Stan, and  Spartacus hasn’t been uploaded just yet.

Books:

Wolf Hall: I think I’m going to start reading this one tonight before I go to bed (I really want to read it before the television show starts). The English reformation is one of the most fascinating periods in history, and learning that Wolf Hall is about Thomas Cromwell is what made me want to read it. I was going to take it on the train to work, but it’s so thick it wouldn’t fit in my bag.

Bad Feminist: My sister gave this to my mum for her birthday, and since they love it so much, I decided I’d read it. I heard that Roxanne Gay writes about pop culture a lot, so it seems right up my alley to read essays about feminism and The Hunger Games.

Film:

I don’t really have many plans to see any films any time soon, but I’ll probably go and see one this weekend if I find that I have a lot of time on my hands. As I said last weekend, I’m sick of seeing the trailer for The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, but that was released today, so maybe I won’t have to watch the trailer any more. I’d like to see Wild, A Most Violent Year, and Rosewater, which I’ll probably see at the Nova, since I have a voucher for their cinemas. If I’m going to the Nova, I want to see something that isn’t on anywhere else. I also want to see Inherent Vice at the Astor because they have it in 70mm, but their schedule and the upcoming renovation of the theatre might mean I’ll have to see it elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

