Streaming Guide March 17 – March 23 | DeciderTV

DALRAT_002.jpeg

Ashleigh Murray | Image courtesy of Netflix

via What’s New In Streaming For The Next Seven Days — DeciderTV

I haven’t seen any of Iron Fist. I wrote it up for the guide, but Netflix has a couple of original releases this week that I’m looking forward to watching. The first is the film Dierdra and Laney Rob a Train, starring Riverdale’s Ashleigh Murray as Dierdra. It’s about two girls who start robbing trains because they’re having financial trouble. I think their mum is sick, but don’t hold me to that (I was wrong, she goes to jail). The other is Samurai Gourmet, and I’ll quote from the press release:

Takeshi Kasumi has spent his entire life devoted to his job. Now a retired man, he finds himself with plenty of extra time on his hands. While on an afternoon walk, Kasumi discovers the joys of daytime drinking and the realisation that he is now free to eat and drink what he wants, when he wants. This awakens his inner persona – a wandering samurai living freely in Japan’s age of civil wars. Thus begins his search for blissfully delectable delights to satisfy his stomach and his soul.

How great does that sound? The episode titles are funny too.

Over on Stan, The Circus has returned for a second season, chronicling the Trump administration’s first 100 days. I only watched a handful of first season episodes, but they were excellent, and the people making this docu-series know exactly what they’re doing. I’m interested in Amazon Video’s German language show as well.

As far as weekly episodes go: Riverdale is off for a couple of weeks, Designated Survivor is somehow The West Wing meets 24 and it manages to work (there are issues, but it’s enjoyable), the season premiere of Underground was promising (and Astrid is there!), and Imposters is really fun. I’m waiting to see if it gets renewed, and I hope it does, but I have no idea what a second season would look like. I had an idea after Episode 5, but then Episode 6 made that unlikely. It’s nice to keep guessing!

In film, Ava DuVernay’s Selma drops on Netflix tomorrow, which was one of my favourite films two awards seasons ago. You should watch it.

Leave a comment